Daily Wisdom / Ocean of Dharma

Stages of the Path

Book cover
The pattern of the practitioner’s progress on the path is as follows: First, one develops extreme exertion in uncovering one’s own neurosis. This one-pointed mindfulness brings the sense of one’s actual human quality. The second stage is marked by gentleness, allowing one’s energies to expand and be shared with the rest of sentient beings. Finally, one develops fearlessness and a sense of joy and penetrating insight, filled with immense devotion to the lineage and one’s root teacher.

From The Collected Works of Chogyam Trungpa, Volume Five, page 324.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s