Daily Wisdom

The Sensory Apparatus

Book coverThe five senses (indriya) have unsurpassed importance in the yogic systems, because we invest a considerable amount of time and energy in them. It would not be wrong to say that the life of the unenlightened individual revolves around the material world as conveyed by the senses and the mind. Only when we have stepped onto the spiritual path do higher faculties (indriya) come into play—notably, as Buddhism has it, faith (shraddha), energy (virya), mindfulness (smrti), concentration (samadhi), and wisdom (prajna).

From The Psychology of Yoga: Integrating Eastern and Western Approaches for Understanding the Mind by Georg Feuerstein, page 91

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s