Daily Wisdom / Tibetan Dharma

The Essence of Enlightenment

Book coverOn the path of seeing there is (1) mindfulness whereby one does not forget the object, the truth; (2) the wisdom of perfect discernment with regard to the object; (3) diligence, delight in virtue, being assiduous in undertaking what is right and avoiding what is wrong in accordance with the path; (4) joy or mental happiness regarding the latter; (5) flexibility, in which mind and body function appropriately; (6) concentration; and (7) evenness, in which the mind enters the natural state, free from the conditions of lack of clarity and wildness. These seven are elements of the path of seeing, the essence of enlightenment. They will make one accumulate or accomplish the positive actions that help one attain nirvana.

From Nagarjuna’s Letter to a Friend by Nagarjuna, page 141

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s